FBI Agent Fails DUI Test

Miami-Dade, Broward, and Monroe Counties are inundated with “important” people who get arrested, particularly of DUI. The jails here have hosted a “who’s who” of celebrities, from Al Capone to Donté Stalworth. Recently, an FBI agent was arrested for drunk driving near Oakland Park, Florida. His behavior during the arrest was a perfect example of how not to act when you are suspected of driving under the influence.  FBI Special Agent Jorge Miyar was pulled over at a DUI checkpoint on Oakland Park Boulevard near Northeast 17th avenue. The officer’s first clue that Agent Miyar was intoxicated was when he ran over the curb. I will stand by my advice as a lawyer to all of you that running over a curb at a DUI check point is definitely not a good idea. It’s not quite as bad a peeing on an officer’s shoes, but it’s definitely going to get you unwanted attention.  During the course of the interview, Special Agent Miyar told the investigating trooper, “I know I’m F—–, I’ve been drinking and I’m in an FBI car.” He then went on to admit that he had been at a party where he had had about five beers. He took and flunked the field sobriety tests. However, he then refused to take the breathalyzer.  If there was ever any doubt that alcohol impairs your judgment, we can all look to Special Agent Miyar as an object lesson in the degenerative effects that booze has on the decision-making process. Needless to say, any lawyer worth his salt will tell you that you have the right to remain silent. That is not to say you should never speak to an officer, but confessing to the crime that the officer is investigating is certainly going to decrease you chances of getting a good plea bargain.  Just as you have the right to remain silent, you have the right to politely decline to perform the field sobriety exercises. There is no law that says you have to do the walk and turn or the Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN) test. The only thing this trained law enforcement officer refused was the breath test, but by that time, it was too late.  DUI cases are built on four things: driving pattern, statements, roadside tests, and the breath test. If you want to avoid a DUI: Don’t swerve on the road or break any traffic laws. When you are pulled over, respectfully decline to answer any questions. When offered field sobriety exercises, respectfully decline to do so. Refusing to perform a breath test is also a crime, although it is infrequently charged. If you perform a breath test, you have the right to an independent test at your own expense. You should definitely avail yourself to that right. If you get a traffic ticket or a DUI, call the Traffic Ticket Team and Jason A. Diamond to fight back for you.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trafficticketteam.wordpress.com/2009/11/03/fbi-agent-fails-dui-test/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. THANK YOU TRAFFIC TICKET TEAM….! YOU GUY’S ARE THE BEST…

    A.C. – Pembroke Pines, FL
    Speeding Ticket

  2. Wow Its funny how even FBI agents get DUI’s. I guess everyone is human, and can make mistakes. Mr. Diamond, I read your Stories all the time just to stay inform, The traffic ticket team is always who i go to first when i have a problem. Thanks for always keeping us informed with your tips and advice. You guys Rock.
    Always
    Sandie M. Drew

  3. Wow Its funny how even FBI agents get DUI’s. I guess everyone is human, and can make mistakes. Mr. Diamond, I read your Stories all the time just to stay inform, The traffic ticket team is always who i go to first when i have a problem. Thanks for always keeping us informed with your tips and advice. You guys Rock.
    Always
    Sandie M. Drew

    Speeding Ticket

  4. Traffic Ticket Team, thank you! I went to your margate office after a bike cop jumped out of the bushes and gave me a speeding ticket. The price of the ticket gave me a heart attack!! Times are tough and I dont have time for traffic school (or the money). Your office allowed me to get some sleep and not worry about having to pay for a bogus ticket. Thank you very much. I only wish I could find that bike cop, and rub those results in his face!

    Traffic Ticket

  5. I tell everyone I know that you guys are the Traffic Ticket ANGELS! You have helped me in every single ticket I’ve ever had. You are amazing. Adriana helped me last time and she couldn’t have been more helpful. Thanks a million!!
    Alysia
    Traffic Ticket

  6. I was pissed ( for lack of better words) when I received my ticket. To me there is nothing more embarrasing than sitting in a car while being scrutinized by a police officer and made to feel like a criminal. It hadnt even been a week since I got my ticket and already I had received thousands upon thousands of fliers. Quite honestly, I threw them all away. They all advertised “No this, and No that, and maybe some of this but none of that”. It wasnt till I came across http://www.trafficticketteam.com/ while doing a google search that I realized I could have possibly thrown YOUR advertisment away. It was actually the blog on the site that urged me to proceed with you. I thought to myself…so many people are saying such amazing things that it wouldnt hurt to try and Im glad that I did. Not only were the services inexpensive but the service PROVIDED was better than I could have asked for. I just received my results in the mail and the only words I remember reading are “Congratulations” “Thrown OUT” and “THERE COULD NOT HAVE BEEN A BETTER RESULT”! Thank you Jason and to your Traffic Ticket Team. I’d go through the scrutnization once again if I knew that in the end Id have my case dismissed no court costs and no traffic school.

  7. I just wanted to say Thanks to Jason and his secretary Jini for all the help and kindness you have showed me when I hired your office for my traffic ticket.It was my first time using the traffic ticket team but I’m sure it will not be my last.I chose your firm because of the professionalism Jini showed and her prompt response to the email I sent.You made an awful ticket less painful.


Leave a comment